The ruins of Fort Frederik Hendrik, now the Fort Frederik Hendrik Museum, in a tranquil garden on the water’s edge are the only tangible remains of Dutch occupation. Built in 1638, the austere square fortification, with bastions, a bakery, prison and store now underneath a layer of French defences, was named in honour of the Prince Maurice of Nassau’s brother. The small museum tells the story of the Dutch on the island, with interesting panels on Mauritius’s first inhabitants and domestic artefacts excavated here. Visitors can also learn about the interesting first registered birth on the island: Simon Van der Stel, son of the second governor, and Maria Lievens, whose mother was a freed Indian slave, went on to become the first governor of Cape Colony, present-day South Africa. Close by is an old watch tower, the Tour des Hollandais (Tower of the Dutch), seen behind a fence.

Travel offers; book through Rough Guides

Mauritius features

The latest articles, galleries, quizzes and videos.

Ten perfect birdwatching trips

Ten perfect birdwatching trips

Few travel moments illicit such a thrill as catching sight of a rare or beautiful bird emerging from its natural habitat. Here are a few of our favourite birdwa…

29 Apr 2013 • Site Editor insert_drive_file Article
View more featureschevron_right

Join over 60,000 subscribers and get travel tips, competitions and more every month

Join over 60,000 subscribers and get travel tips, competitions and more every month