Spain // Aragón //

The Cinco Villas

North of Zaragoza, the Cinco Villas stretch for some 90km along the border with Navarra and comprise Tauste, Ejea de los Caballeros, Sádaba, Uncastillo and Sos del Rey Católico, all set in delightful, scarcely visited countryside. The title of Cinco Villas is owed to Felipe V, who awarded it for their services in the War of the Spanish Succession (1701–14). For those en route to the Pyrenees (the road past Sos continues to Roncal in Navarra) or to Pamplona, the Cinco Villas make a pleasant stopoff. Sos, the most interesting of the five, attracts the majority of visitors.