In addition to the main public holidays – on July 4, Independence Day, the entire country takes time out to picnic, drink, salute the flag, and watch or participate in fireworks displays, marches, beauty pageants, eating contests and more, to commemorate the signing of the Declaration of Independence in 1776 – there is a diverse multitude of engaging local events in the USA: arts-and-crafts shows, county fairs, ethnic celebrations, music festivals, rodeos, sandcastle-building competitions, chilli cook-offs and countless others.

Certain festivities, such as Mardi Gras in New Orleans, are well worth planning your holiday around but obviously other people will have the same idea, so visiting during these times requires an extra amount of advance effort, not to mention money. Halloween (Oct 31) is also immensely popular. No longer just the domain of masked kids running around the streets banging on doors and demanding “trick or treat”, in some bigger cities Halloween has evolved into a massive celebration. In LA’s West Hollywood, New York’s Greenwich Village, New Orleans’s French Quarter and San Francisco’s Castro district, for example, the night is marked by colourful parades, mass cross-dressing, huge block parties and wee-hours partying. Thanksgiving Day, on the fourth Thursday in November, is more sedate. Relatives return to the nest to share a meal (traditionally, roast turkey and stuffing, cranberry sauce, and all manner of delicious pies) and give thanks for family and friends. Ostensibly, the holiday recalls the first harvest of the Pilgrims in Massachusetts, though Thanksgiving was a national holiday before anyone thought to make that connection.

Annual festivals and events

The state tourist boards can provide more complete calendars for each area.

January

Cowboy Poetry Gathering Elko, NV westernfolklife.org.
Sundance Film Festival Park City, UT sundance.org/festival.
Winter Carnival St Paul, MN winter-carnival.com.

February

Daytona 500
Daytona Beach, FL daytonainternationalspeedway.com.
Groundhog Day Punxsutawney, PA groundhog.org.
Mardi Gras New Orleans, LA (the six weeks before Lent) mardigrasneworleans.com.

March

Academy Awards (the “Oscars”) Los Angeles, CA oscars.org.
Ice Alaska Fairbanks, AK icealaska.com.
St Joseph’s Day and the Mardi Gras Indians’ “Super Sunday” New Orleans, LA mardigrasindians.com.
South by Southwest Music Festival Austin, TX sxsw.com.
Ultra Music Festival Miami, FL ultramusicfestival.com.
World Championship Crawfish Étouffée Cook-off Eunice, LA eunice-la.com.

April

Arkansas Folk Festival Mountain View, AR arkansas.com/events.
Coachella Music & Arts Festival Coachella, CA coachella.com.
Festival International de Louisiane Lafayette, LA festivalinternational.com.
Fiesta San Antonio San Antonio, TX fiesta-sa.org.
French Quarter Festival New Orleans, LA fqfi.org.
Gathering of Nations Pow Wow Albuquerque, NM gatheringofnations.com.
Jazz and Heritage Festival (Jazz Fest) New Orleans, LA (into May) nojazzfest.com.

May

Crawfish Festival Breaux Bridge, LA bbcrawfest.com.
Folk Festival Kerrville, TX (into June) kerrvillefolkfestival.com.
Indianapolis 500 Indianapolis, IN indy500.com.
Kentucky Derby Louisville, KY kentuckyderby.com.
Leaf Festival (also Oct) Black Mountain, NC theleaf.com.
Memphis in May International Festival Memphis, TN memphisinmay.org.
Merrie Monoarch Hilo, HI merriemonarch.com.
Spoleto Festival Charleston, SC (into June) spoletousa.org.
Tejano Conjunto Festival San Antonio, TX guadalupeculturalarts.org.

June

Bluegrass Festival Telluride, CO bluegrass.com.
CMA Music Festival Nashville, TN cmafest.com.
Little Bighorn Days Hardin, MT custerslaststand.org.
Texas Folklife Festival San Antonio, TX texasfolklifefestival.org.

July

Cheyenne Frontier Days Cheyenne, WY cfdrodeo.com.
Essence Music Festival New Orleans, LA essencemusicfestival.com.
Hopi Festival of Arts and Culture Flagstaff, AZ musnaz.org.
National Basque Festival Elko, NV elkobasque.com.
National Cherry Festival Traverse City, MI visit.cherryfestival.org.
Newport Folk Festival Newport, RI newportfolkfest.net.
World Eskimo-Indian Olympics Fairbanks, AK weio.org.

August

Augusta Festival of Appalachian Culture Elkins, WV augustaheritage.com.
Burning Man Black Rock City, NV (into Sept) burningman.com.
Elvis Week (Anniversary of Elvis’s death) Memphis, TN elvis.com.
Indian Market Santa Fe, NM swaia.org.
Inter-Tribal Indian Ceremonial Gallup, NM theceremonial.com.
Iowa State Fair Des Moines, IA iowastatefair.com.
Maine Lobster Festival Rockland, ME mainelobsterfestival.com.
Mountain Dance and Folk Festival Asheville, NC folkheritage.org.
Newport Jazz Festival Newport, RI newportjazzfest.net.
Satchmo SummerFest New Orleans, LA fqfi.org.
Southwest Louisiana Zydeco Festival Opelousas, LA zydeco.org.

September

Bluegrass and Chili Festival Claremore, OK claremore.org.
Buffalo Roundup Custer State Park, SD southdakota.com.
Bumbershoot Seattle, WS bumbershoot.org.
Detroit International Jazz Festival Detroit, MI detroitjazzfest.com.
Festa di San Gennaro New York, NY sangennaro.org.
Fiestas de Santa Fe Santa Fe, NM santafefiesta.org.
International Balloon Fiesta Albuquerque, NM balloonfiesta.com.
Mississippi Delta Blues & Heritage Festival Greenville, MS deltablues.org.
Moja Arts Festival Charleston, SC (into Oct) mojafestival.com.
Monterey Jazz FestivalMonterey, CA montereyjazzfestival.org.
Panhandle South Plains Fair Lubbock, TX southplainsfair.com.
Pendleton Round-Up Pendleton, OR pendletonroundup.com.
Southern Decadence New Orleans, LA southerndecadence.net.

October

Arkansas Blues and Heritage Festival Helena, AR bluesandheritagefest.com.
Art & Pumpkin Festival Half Moon Bay, CA miramarevents.com/pumpkinfest/.
Festivals Acadiens et Créoles Lafayette, LA festivalsacadiens.com.
Great American Beer Festival Denver, CO greatamericanbeerfestival.com.
Helldorado Days Tombstone, AZ helldoradodays.com.

November

Ozark Folk Festival Eureka Springs, AR ozarkfolkfestival.com.
Voodoo Experience New Orleans, LA worshipthemusic.com.

December

Art Basel Miami, FL artbasel.com/Miami-Beach.

Essentials

Everything you need to know before you set off.

Book through Rough Guides’ trusted travel partners

USA features

The latest articles, galleries, quizzes and videos.

The best aerial views in the world

The best aerial views in the world

Got a head for heights? If you're craving a new perspective on your travels, the best thing to do is get up high. From mountain-top panoramas to cityscapes, her…

17 Oct 2017 • Olivia Rawes camera_alt Gallery
American beauty: the southwest USA in pictures

American beauty: the southwest USA in pictures

After two months road tripping through the southwest USA, Rough Guides photographer Tim Draper captured the region's stunning natural beauty through his lens. H…

16 Oct 2017 • Tim Draper insert_drive_file Article
Budget trips: 20 of the cheapest places to travel

Budget trips: 20 of the cheapest places to travel

That ever-growing travel wish list might be putting some pressure on your pocket – but there are plenty of destinations where you'll get more bang for your b…

11 Oct 2017 • Emma Gibbs camera_alt Gallery
View more featureschevron_right

Weekly newsletter

Sign up now for travel inspiration, discounts and competitions

Sign up now and get 20% off any ebook