North Vietnam in a week

Hi guys!
I am a student who’s planning a trip over Vietnam for 13 days from the 2nd of May to the 15th of May more or less. Basically we splitted the trip in two parts:
- a week in the North (Hanoi, Halong, Mai Chau and Sapa)
- a week in Ho Chi Minh (flying from hanoi where we’d stay a couple days in the city and then take a tour in the Mekong Delta that then takes us to Phu Quoc island).

Do you agree on our plan?
For the first part we were thinking about staying the 3rd of May in Hanoi then the 4th we could go to Halong where we could spend the night on a boat and the the 5th again Hanoi.

Then we’d have from the 6th to the 11th dedicated to the North West and I’ve read that Mai Chau and Sapa are the “to do” things (we are not trekking lovers but we’d like to see around and go to villages and immerge in the nature).
What’s your suggestion? How could we move from Mai Chau to Sapa?

Do you think that a week in Ho Chi Minh and Mekong Delta is too much (is Phu Quoc worth it?)

I’m being sorry for the great amount of information but I’m planning the trip during my exam week!

THANK YOU VERY MUCH IN ADVANCE

gabrielemarino 19/04/14    Where to goAsia Link Report

Processing your request, Please wait....

2 Replies Date Popularity

Hi there,

Sounds like a great trip you have there! I spent a month travelling in Vietnam a couple of years ago and have been to some of these places so thought I might be able to help you out a bit. The timings generally look ok to me, although it obviously depends how much you want to do in each place and what pace you are happy with! here are my suggestions:

1. Ho Chi Minh area – a week is probably about right for this (depending on if you do go to Phu Quoc and how you travel there/back, I went there via the Mekong Delta and a boat, then flew back to Ho Chi Minh to save time).